Quick Take: YearlyKos – It’s THEIR Party

Let’s just get to it, shall we? 

Just in case you haven’t heard, and I know you haven’t, there was a progressive bloggers convention, YearlyKos, this past weekend in Chicago.  What is YearlyKos exactly?   A really don’t know.   I do know it has a strong affiliation with the political blog, Daily Kos who organized this event.   Haven’t heard of it either?  Not surprised.

According to an August 6, 2007, Washington Post article, the 1500 conventioneers at YearlyKos were mostly middle-aged white males who got to have some quality “we” time.   How precious.   It went on to mention that some are surprised and rather concerned about the event’s lack of diversity.  

“Why is the blogosphere, which is supposed to be democratic, reinforcing the same white male power structure that exists?” asked attendee Jennifer Fernandez Ancona who works for Vote Hope a California-based activist group.

I have stopped asking, “Why?”  In almost every way, the socio-political blogs are like the mainstream media.  Both provide an extremely myopic and stereotypical view of our country and its inhabitants.  In their world, all southern whites are ignorant religious zealots and urban blacks are poor and ignorant as well.  All blacks are Democrats, of course, and anyone who isn’t must have his/her brain examined.  And of if you believe them, all Latinos are Mexicans.

I don’t care if they hold the YearlyKos convention every year until Jesus comes again. It’s their party.  Let them have their fun.  Let them delude themselves into thinking that they speak for anyone other than members of their small exclusive group. Let them believe that they are having a real impact on this country and it discourse.

Email me when they have a bloggers convention attended by the following:

Southern Working Class White Mothers with Biracial Children –  I would love to know what these women think about the intersection of race, class and region.  I do have friends who fit this description but they are too busy working and trying to raise their kids to blog. 

Black Teens/Young Adults Living in Housing Projects  I don’t want to hear from some opportunistic black rappers who fake street cred.  I want to hear from the young people living amid the madness.  What are their daily challenges?  What are their dreams and aspirations? Do they have any?  What do they really think about people like Bill Cosby and Dr. Michael Eric Dyson ?  If we really want to resolve the “problems” of the inner city, we have to listen to its residents. 

Working Class Whites – Personally, I think this is the most underrepresented group.  Truly voiceless.  Their white bretheren dismiss them as being ignorant or lazy or both.  And people of color think that this group’s white skin privilege is an easy pass to the good life that they have yet to cash in. These misconceptions may be the reason why many are so very angry at the “other.”  It’s hard to admit that the face of the “enemy” looks a lot like you.

Asians Living in Urban Chinatowns – Do they fit the “model minority”  profile?   What happens to the Asian underachiever?  Is he/she ostracized by the community?   And why aren’t Asians more politically active?

Black Republicans – I know there are more of us out there than those loud-mouthed provocateurs that I see on the cable news channels.  Holla at a sistah. 

“Latinos” Who Aren’t Mexican – I love my Mexican brethren but I don’t know when it happened but “latino” has become synonymous with “Mexican”.  I live in NY and although we have a lot of Mexicans residents, there are also are a great many Dominicans, Puerto Ricans and people from South and Central America.  What are their thoughts about the immigration debate?

Other “African Americans” – I want to hear more from black Americans who don’t have southern/American slavery roots.   I have written feature stories about African and Caribbean-Americans and their views of their African American counterparts.   I know there is a great deal of animosity on both sides.   I still want to hear more about this increasingly complex relationship.


One thought on “Quick Take: YearlyKos – It’s THEIR Party

  1. I would love to have a conversation with you on this subject. I am an African American male and am perplexed by the role that mutual ignorance and a total lack of understanding plays in this animosity and hostility. I will talk about my own ethnic group first.African Americans see folks from other parts of the diaspora as disadvantaged and want to learn nothing about our Caribbean and African brothers and sisters except how to party with them or seduce them. We do not read about the other parts of the Black Diaspora and are willfully ignorant. I myself, use my computer time to keep up on the news, culture and literature of the Black parts of this planet. I have much to learn from you!

Leave a Reply

