Tavis Smiley Quits “Tom Joyner Morning Show” – Reason: No Love

Today, Tom Joyner, host of the nationally syndicated radio show, the “Tom Joyner Morning Show” announced that commentator and activist, Tavis Smiley has ended his 12-year relationship with the broadcast.  Smiley told Joyner he quit because of too many commitments but Joyner believes the real reason behind Smiley’s departure is the lack of love he has received from the black community as a result of his remarks about Democratic presidential candidate Senator Barack Obama.  

“[Smiley] can’t take the hate he’s taken over Barack Obama.  He’s always busting Barack Obama’s chops…You know Tavis like I do, he needs to feel loved.. If you don’t say anything for Barack Obama, you are considered to be a hater…He loves black America and Black America has really been critical of him…” (Dick Prince, Journal-isms)

If this is true, to use the latest vernacular, Smiley seems to be exhibiting a great degree of bitchassness. What’s love got to do with this?  If you voice an opinion different from that of the majority, you are bound to get some heat.  In fact, it is expected that you will. It’s is also expected that you will take it if you believe in the validity of your views. The truth of the matter is that Smiley is probably still pissed that Obama did not attend his annual socio-political gabfest, “The State of the Black Union”. Smiley declined an offer to have Obama’s wife, Michelle, take his place.  Tavis, my dear, the world doesn’t revolve around you and your narrow agenda.  The man has an election to win.  As for the state of the black union, it’s still in dire straights and no amount of yakking and/or grandstanding or theatrics by ineffective “activists”, less-than-thoughtful scholars,or politically impotent politicians is going to help matters.

Tavis, professional talker/”activist”, self-promoter you are, you may be shedding tears over black America but I bet many of us aren’t shedding a single tear over you.  Move aside son and let a man with a real chance of improving the state of black America come through.

UPDATE 

Here’s a statement from Tavis Smiley i
 

“There is no way to put into words the love and respect that Tom Joyner and I have for each other, or the love affair that I’ve had with TJMS listeners for almost 12 years now.

Due to the overwhelming amount of phone calls and e-mails I have received from listeners and other media, I wanted to briefly clarify a few issues that I will address more fully in my regular TJMS commentary on Tuesday morning, April 15, at 8:20 a.m. ET.

I did not “quit” the Tom Joyner Morning Show effective immediately. In July I will celebrate my 12th anniversary with the show, and as I discussed with Tom, it is my intention to take on the issues of the day in my commentary twice every week with the same energy, passion and commitment until the end of June.

Contrary to what has been suggested, I have decided to clear some things off my plate so that I can devote my time and attention to some exciting and empowering projects that The Smiley Group, Inc. and other divisions of my company have underway this summer, this fall and beyond.”

So he’s quitting as of July instead of immediately.  Regarding the reason for his departure, I am inclined to believe Joyner’s version of the story.   This “he said, he said” is getting a bit messy for my taste.

 

 

 

 


2 thoughts on “Tavis Smiley Quits “Tom Joyner Morning Show” – Reason: No Love

  1. I will never understand why Tavis has implicated himself so much in Obama’s campaign. Why is he so offended that Obama has succeeded without being minted by him? Tavis’s actions are incredibly bizarre. Is he a down-low Clinton supporter? Is he on Walmart’s dole? It’s one thing if his criticisms were grounded in policy or disagreements with Obama but he’s just fanning the flames for no rational reason at all.

Leave a Reply

