Hooked on Madonna Once More. And All It Took Was “4 Minutes”

Madonna Louise Ciccone Ritchie, the Material Mother who was once the Material Girl and who will forever be the Mother of Reinvention, is back with a vengeance.  In her 25 year-plus reign, countless obituaries have been written, each one heralding the death of her career as a pop icon.  Time and again, Madonna, who will turn 50 in August, has proven her critics wrong.  Take it from this sistah, if and or when Armageddon takes place, the only things rising from the ashes will be rats, roaches and Mrs. Ritchie.

As for me, I been a fan for years but for years, I have been lukewarm about her music, and have been even less accepting of work outside of the studio.  I don’t want the woman who brought me “Sex” wrapped in a silver package complete with glossy photos to write Kabbalah inspired children’s books and to speak with a faux British accent.

Today, I am a true believer in all that is Madonna. And all it took was “4 Minutes”, the Timbaland-produced, first single from her new CD, “Hard Candy” to make me genuflect in reverential awe.  The moment I heard the song, with its hard driving danceable beat, I was hooked and soon became one of the over 1 million people who have downloaded the song since its debut five weeks ago.  Only one other artist, Rihanna, has exceeded 1 million digital downloads in the same period of time. 

With the overwhelming success of “4 Minutes” and her free 30-minute performance for 2,200 at New York’s Roseland Ballroom, a event for the fans who began standing in line on Monday at 10 a.m. to be one of  the 750 people to receive the wristbands that guaranteed free admission which were distributed at 6 a.m. on Wednesday for the performance later that evening, Madonna has put all pretenders and wannabes on notice.

And who might these contenders for the throne be?  

Amy “Because I Was High” Winehouse

Mariah “Can you help me reach my notes?  They are too high” Carey

Whitney “Oh Hell to the Naw”  and “My voice is cracked.” Houston

Britney “Have you seen my panties because I know you have seen me show my ass?”  Spears

Rhianna  (Who? What?  Maybe?  Never!)

No, not much competition there.  

Oh, did I mention that Madonna will be making an appearance on Black Entertainment Television’s (BET) music video countdown show, “106 & Park”, this Friday (May 2 at 6 p.m. EDT), for the first time in the show’s history.  According to BET, “[“106 and Park”] is prepared to give Madonna a welcome celebration like never before. To predict her next evolution, [hosts] Terrence and Rocsi will get Madonna to foresee the future. Rocsi will also do yoga positions that Madonna will comment on, and Terrence will do some dance moves for her to judge. Madonna will also introduce her new video 4 Minutes, featuring Justin Timberlake and Timbaland.”  

Sounds like a blast or a hot ghetto mess. Either way, it should prove to be quite entertaining because Madonna knows how to put on a show. It will be appointment viewing for me.

Haven’t heard the song yet? Do you want to have “4 Minutes” with Madonna?  I am telling you the song is more addictive than crack and Cmeth combined.  You will need a 12-step program to keep you from hitting the replay button for the nth time.  If you dare, click here for the video. “4 Minutes”  with Madonna is better than “Sex”.

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

