Poprah Spared Again on ‘I Want to Work for Diddy’. Laverne Shown the Door. (Update #2)

I thought she would be shown the door by now, but Kim, a.k.a Poprah, a contestant on VH1’s I Want to Work for Diddy, (Mondays, 9 p.m Eastern) has lasted yet another elimination.  All I can do is shake my head.  What is it about this woman that keeps Diddy’s tribunal voting to spare her big ass time and time again?  Is it that her obnoxious, calculating, overbearing ways make for good television or perhaps they see something in her that has alluded the rest of us including the entire group of contestants?   Or have they collectively lost their minds?

All I can say is that I am too sad that they got rid of my girl, Laverne, the classy trannie beauty, because she didn’t sell not one bottle of Diddy’s perfume, Unforgivable Woman – the sale of the product being the objective of the challenge with the victory going to the team that sold the most.

What bothered me most about last night’s elimination was Poprah’s sob story (she really sobbed guys) about wanting to start her own media company like Diddy and that she’s been at it since the age of 15 (heard this all before from her) and that she gained weight because she was tired of being hit on (something new here) and wanted to be respected for what she could do and not how she looked.

For a minute, I thought I was watching Oprah and not Poprah.  I am truly tired of people pimping their troubles for personal gain.  Her tears did not move me.  I’ve encountered many a disrespectful SOB who thought I would be willing and ready to use — pardon my expression — my choochie as currency.  I had to make it perfectly clear that that way wasn’t my way. I am sure that I lost an opportunity or two but I still retained most of my sexay and my self-respect.  At no time did I consider gaining weight to make myself less sexually appealing.  As a former fatty who fought hard to lose and now maintain a healthy weight, I was going to undo the progress I had made.

I think at the heart of Poprah’s Kim’s behavior – angry bombast– is what Laverne intimated during the elimination proceedings — unaddressed emotional issues.  We, as blacks, think that we can avoid handling our business when it comes to the issue of mental health not understanding that our mental health is as equally as important as our physical health (which we often neglect as well).  Poprah’s behavior shows that if you don’t confront your inner demons, they can rear their ugly heads and wreak havoc, not only on your personal life, but your professional life as well. 

At the conclusion of the elimination, the judges decided to put Kim on another team to fully determine whether or not she is the problem.  What?!  Hey guys let me give this note: Kim is not going to change because she doesn’t believe she is wrong.  Whatever. And yes, I will watch next week to see what happens. All part of the master plan I guess.

UPDATE

Watching this week’s challenge (9/22). Kim “Poprah” had people guess her age as her hustle to earn money. If I’m not mistaken, someone guessed 40 and she said that he was correct. If this is true, I have to give it to her, she’s held up very well. 

UPDATE #2

I just finished watching the show. (9/29/08)  “Poprah” was shown for what she is — a lot of talk and little action.  She was unable to produce the showcase guest list for one of Bad Boy’s new artists, Janelle Monae..  And beyotch had the nerve to tell Diddy, when he asked for that list, that she couldn’t just “invent” the list to give to him.  Say what?  Then, I believe, Diddy told her that she couldn’t work for him. It happened so fast, it felt like I may have missed something. If Kim “Poprah” is really outta there, then the final three are: Stephanie, Suzanne and Mike. The season finale is next week.  My money is on Suzanne. I like her.  She’s a grown ass woman who is not too grown to humble herself for the cause.  A consummate professional.  

Related Post

Everyone’s a Winner on VH1’s ‘I Want to Work for Diddy’ Finale (The Ride)

I Want to Work for Diddy’: Watch, Listen and Learn (The Ride)


5 thoughts on “Poprah Spared Again on ‘I Want to Work for Diddy’. Laverne Shown the Door. (Update #2)

  1. I agree with you. Poprah is annoying & obnoxious and I don’t like her. It tool a second for Laverne to grow on me, but in the Laverne is head and shoulders above the rest. Bourgie, Esq. (a blogger on WordPress) suggested that Diddy may not have been comfortable actually having to hire Laverne, so he got her out of the way now, so he wouldn’t have to deal with that issue later. He, just like you, agrees that Poprah is just being kept around for the ratings.

  2. I agree with one of the posters above. I believe that Diddy is keeping Kim for the drama that she brings to the show, and that he was uncomfortable with hiring a transvestite. I find it sad that there is favoritism towards Poprah and discrimination against Laverne. What’s even worse is that Laverne was actually one of the stronger ones out of the bunch- someone that I would have personally considered keeping through the end. I believe that Poprah’s survival is because of dramatic effect and nothing else, because anyone could start to suspect that there is a REASON why she’s been up for elimination about, is it 4 times now?

  3. I wanted to share this with all of you about Poprah from VH1’S “I WANT TO WORK FOR DIDDY”:
    Kim (aka Poprah) has been seen on the hit VH1 show “I Want to Work For Diddy” as someone you either love or love to hate. Her agressive personality and tenacity has garnered both praise and loathing from her fellow cast members, but who is the woman that has been at the center of controversy after controversy on the show since Episode One? How did she become one of the most recognizable faces on reality tv in 2008?

    Converations LIVE!* takes you into the woman who is Poprah in this special interview! Join us on Tuesday, September 16, 2008 at 5p.m. CST (6p.m. EST) as we talk exclusively to Poprah about her life, her goals in life and why she deserves to work for Diddy.

    To listen to the show live, simply visit http://www.blogtalkradio.com/conversationslive at showtime. The show can also be heard live by calling 1.347.426.3645.

Leave a Reply

