Serving It with Smarts, Sass and a Smile: Bethenny Frankel of ‘The Real Housewives of New York City’ (UPDATE)

What happens when you have six grown-ass women — friends and acquaintances — together in one city, to work, live and play? A whole lot if you are the women of Bravo’s The Real Housewives of New York City which just wrapped up its second season.

Fan favorite, celebrity chef and author Bethenny Frankel chatted with The Ride about the show and other goodies she has on her plate.

The Ride: Thank you for taking time out of your crazy busy schedule to speak with me.  I have a confession, I just started watching this season, and I became hooked in great part because of you. Sassy, sane and all about the realness. Team Bethenny all the way. Do you ever stop to think, how did mixed up with these crazy broads?

Bethenny: When I saw how crazy these broads were, it became a no-brainer to do the show. When my ex-boyfriend met them, he said as E (referring to Eric, the manager on Entourage) “I forbid it”. I said, “How can I look nuts with this crew?” And believe me, I am nuts.

The Ride: You and Jill [Zarin] seem like pretty close friends. Love it when you mimic her! Were you friends with Jill before the show started?

Bethenny:  I knew Jill very briefly. She is the queen of accountability, so she’d always run up to me and ask: “How do you get into the VIP tent? Where are the gift bags? How do you know so and so.” We were acquaintances and now we’re family. To really know Jill is to love her and to love to mimic her. We also drive each other nuts. I owe a lot to her. She is solely responsible for putting me on the show. I acknowledge she and Bobby in my book. Truthfully, it was Bobby who introduced me to the producers. He is responsible.

The Ride: Where/when did you guys meet?

Bethenny:  We met through a terrible human being of a girl at a group dinner at Nobu. Neither of us are friends with her. She is a cheating, jealous mean girl.

[Wow, that’s my girl.  All about the real]

The Ride: How are you getting along now?

Bethenny:  We are family and very close friends.

Bethenny Frankel of the 'Real Housewives of New York' at her Book Signing Party (photo: Bethenny Frankel)
Bethenny Frankel of the ‘Real Housewives of New York’ at her Book Signing Party (photo: Bethenny Frankel)

The Ride:  My friend (real, not imaginary) wanted me to ask you if much of what goes on is “scripted”?  I, say, no. “The Hills”, you aren’t and I thank my personal deity everyday for that. Enough about I what I think, what say you?

Bethenny: The show isn’t scripted whatsoever. Every bit is true. Truth is stranger than fiction.

The Ride: Okay, I checked out the reunion show. All I have to say is, “Wow”. Just in case I had any doubt (and I didn’t really) Kelly [Bensimon] is looney tunes. Moving along nothing new to see. Anyway, I gotta ask what’s up those broads calling you two-faced?  Where do you think they got that impression from?  And why, do you believe it’s the wrong one?

Bethenny: Alex [McCord] doesn’t understand why I don’t say everything to her face. I don’t ever see her face. I tell it like it is how and when I like it, and I don’t care what people have to say about that. Aside from Jill, we’re not best friends. I never said I don’t talk about people. I never said I was some pillar of perfection and appropriateness.

The Ride: I’m having a petty beyotch moment and I ask for your forgiveness and understanding in advance but what is up with Ramona [Singer’s] eyes?  You can tell me.

Bethenny: No clue about Ramona’s eyes, but she definitely has a screw loose which I thank god for. Ramona is a star on that show.

The Ride:  Personally, my crazy threshold is pretty low. A sistah’s nerves are real bad. Once the shooting stops, do you find that you have to detox from it all?  If so, how do you do it?

Bethenny: That is very astute. It is very toxic and you need to decompress from it. I love the spaces in between, but when we’re not shooting, we’re doing press. Thankfully, it never ends.

The Ride: Have you seen the The Real Housewives of New Jersey or the broads down in the ATL?  Madness I tell you. They talk about strip clubs, pole dancing and sex acts like some people talk about manicures. If you have seen them, what are your thoughts?

Bethenny: Read my blog on bravotv.com. I lay out what I think of those broads and I use that term. The show (The Real Housewives of NJ) is WHITE-lanta.

The Ride: If you come back for another season, are you going to feel pressure to up your crazy quotient?

Bethenny: I will never be anything but what I am. Bravo takes me for who I am, and so does the viewer or I would rather not participate.

The Ride: Congratulations on the success of your book, Naturally Thin: Unleash Your Skinnygirl and Free Yourself from a Lifetime of Dieting. Love how you say, you can have it all but not at once. When you’re not in “Skinnygirl” mode, what is your favorite food splurge?

Bethenny:  Thanks. We are in the 9th week on the New York Times Best Seller List since its debut. The book teaches you a healthy relationship with food, so there are no splurges. There are good and bad investments and your diet is a bank account. My favorite bad investment is red velvet cake.

The Ride: What is are your thoughts about shows like The Biggest Loser where people lose whole humans in weight in what seems to be a relatively short period of time and in what is an unrealistic setting?

Bethenny: I think the show changes lives and gives people a once in a lifetime opportunity. Because you leave that fishbowl, Naturally Thin helps with that progression, and cast members have reached out and read my book to sustain and maintain their weight loss.

The Ride: What’s next for you?

Bethenny: Everything is next: Skinnylicious the book and 3 Skinnygirl guides after that, Skinnygirl margarita bottled product launches in June. Open and serve and only 100 calories a serving-equal to a glass of wine, Skinnygirl apparel, Skinnygirl all natural lollipops,and naturally skin natural skin care.  Lots and lots.

The Ride: One last question:  Have you had one of those awkward celebrity moments when someone recognized you when you were like, buying tampons or taking a pee?  If so, please share..in detail.

Bethenny: I don’t pee in public, and everyone buys tampons. They are pricey. I think they should be government issued but that’s another story. I get recognized all the time: at Starbucks in pjs, at the airport in no makeup. I’m not a model, so I don’t care.

Thanks Bethenny.  Now, I’m an even bigger fan!

Want to hear more from Bethenny? Sign up for her e-newsletter at bethenny.com. You can follow Bethenny on Twitter (@bettheny), check her out on MySpace (click here) or on Facebook (Search “Bethenny Frankel”)

UPDATE

So much has happened in Bethenny’s life recently. She’s engaged. She will have her own spin-off show on Bravo, ‘Skinny and the City’….And she’s pregnant.  For more, click here


One thought on “Serving It with Smarts, Sass and a Smile: Bethenny Frankel of ‘The Real Housewives of New York City’ (UPDATE)

  1. Frankel is smart? She stated she was ignorant of the fur trade’s treatment of animals. She’s posing for PETA, Read PETA’s stand on horse racing. Frankel is a self proclaimed racetrack ho. She is nothing but a publicity seeking fake hypocrite.

Leave a Reply

