Summer in the City: The High Line, Free in the NYC

Sometimes I need a break from it all.  I would suspect, after recent events, you do too.  It’s not like the craziness of pop culture is ever going to die its own untimely death, so taking some time off is okay.

Since I’m into free, or damn near free, adventures that aren’t more than a subway fare away, I decided to check out the buzz surrounding New York City’s latest attraction, The High Line, a elevated park (or as it has been said, “a park in the sky”) converted from an old railroad yard overlooking the Hudson River on New York’s West Side.

Life Lesson Too, Perhaps?  On NYC's The High Line (photo: C. Thompson)
Life Lesson Too, Perhaps? On NYC's The High Line (photo: C. Thompson)

It was a nice excursion for a Sunday afternoon. I especially loved the openness of the space despite its obvious physical limitations. And the way in which the old railroads tracks with its wild flower-like plants,  blended with the modern simplistic design was wonderfully imaginative.

And, it was peaceful.  Yes, there were people there taking it all in like I was but the frenetic pace that is the City’s hallmark was nowhere present.  For that alone, I was too grateful.

For more about The High Line’s design:

And finally, from Pepsi Refresh GoodWorks, the story of The High Line as told by Friend of the High Line co-founder Joshua David  (Disclaimer:  I don’t drink Pepsi. Not into cola drinks.  But I do like it when big companies support the building/rebuilding of communities).


One thought on “Summer in the City: The High Line, Free in the NYC

  1. I think this is a brilliant idea and fits right into what NYC is about. Haven’t checked it out yet but I think I will very soon!

Leave a Reply

