Do You See What I See?

They say the first step on the road to recovery is to admit that you have a problem. Confession: I am obsessed with reality TV.  I said it.

Here are a few shows that have been feeding my addiction of late:

Real Chance of Love 2 (VH1 Mondays, at 9 p.m. Eastern/Pacific) – “Stallionaires” Real and Chance, brothers and former suitors of the famed New York, as in I Love New York, are looking for love…once again. And once again, attractive, but rather “special” women, vie for a chance to become the brothers’ love interests. Given such names as Apple, Junk (so called for her big ass-ets,) and Blond Baller, the “ladies” are put through a series of challenges which include auditioning for a music video, demonstrating their special “talents” and searching for a yeti, aka “Bigfoot” (who is really another Stallionaire brother). They win dates with the brothers to places like the “prom”, the horseracing track and the zoo.  Of course, the usual mayhem ensues — beyotches get slapped, hair gets pulled, tears are shed, somebody loses her damn mind. And that was just in the first episode.

Okay, why do I watch? It’s the hair. Long, luxurious hair. I am mesmerized by Real’s (a.k.a. Ahmad Givens) shiny black, silky hair. I stare at it forgetting all else. What products does he use?  Can I run my fingers through it?  He does sleep in a black silk cap as I discovered in a recent episode.  The man is a walking Pantene commercial…That hair…*swoons*.

Real (a.k.a Ahmad Givens of 'Real Chance of Love 2' (photo: VH1)
Real (a.k.a Ahmad Givens) of 'Real Chance of Love 2' (photo: VH1)

P. Diddy’s StarMaker (MTV, Sundays, 10 p.m. Eastern/Pacific) – Stop rolling your eyes. I see you and I know what you are thinking, “Another Diddy show; spare me.”  Yes, Diddy TV is a like a bad rash — it’s just pervasive and has no known cure.  But this show isn’t half bad — which means it’s pretty good.  I don’t love it like Making His Band (MTV, Mondays, 10 p.m. Eastern/Pacific) but it’s still worth my time.

What’s the show about? Oh, yeah.. It’s a talent show like American Idol in which singers perform in front of a panel of judges that include producer Rodney ‘Dark Child”Jerkins, Tamara Coniff (No, I never hear of her either), and my all time favorite Making the Band perennial, choreographer LaurieAnn Gibson. Unlike AI, we get to see what goes on in “the house” where the wannabes reside. They compete for songs, work on new arrangements with the band and rehearse.

The behind the scenes stuff is interesting but I tune in mainly for the show — the one the judges put on. I’m not saying they are fake. No far from it. This is the most authentic, all-around hard-hitting panel of judges you are likely to see anywhere on reality TV. There is no Randy with his “dawg”and “pitchy” nonsense. No Paula with her seemingly inebriated barely coherent ramblings. No Kara with her stone cold sober barely coherent ramblings. It’s like having Simon times 3 with LaurieAnn, who serves as the tough-minded encourager, representing Simon’s “softer”side.

People to watch: Melody Angel – a soulful black rocker and skateboarder who blew it out the box in the premiere episode with her rendition of a Pink’s “So What”.  I gotta love a fellow badass sistah who defies stereotypes and fights for what she believes in — like her choice of arrangement and song.  Recently, the judges got into it with one another over her reinterpretation/arrangement of a Kelly Clarkson song. I just love a good fight. And there is Liz Davis — a country sanger from Mississippi. Yes, I said “sanger” because she can sing her ass off; hence, the girl can “sang”. Star quality and looks for days.

The Dirt: One girl, Monet Monico, who was deemed, most recently, “the one to beat” by Jerkins, got a lot of shade from her fellow performers who felt she was not worthy of the title. (I felt the same way)…Should be interesting back at the house.

Flipping Out (Bravo, Tuesday, 10 p.m.) – Obsessive-compulsive real estate flipper Jeff Lewis is back for a third season. Also returning are his long suffering assistant Jenni Pulos and sassy housekeeper Zoila.  Jeff has taken a major hit in this economic downturn losing nearly a third of his net worth. He can no longer afford to flip houses and now has focused his efforts on his design/remodeling business where he works with…God forbid…clients. You know it’s not going to be good because Jeff doesn’t play well with others. Well, Jenni’s divorced and trying to date…not many good prospects on that front either.

The Crazy Has Only Just Begun: At the request of a potential client and in an effort to close the deal, Jeff and Jenni, wearing pajamas, spend a “taco night” at the client’s home. Too hilarious…And too odd…Jeff got the project but I am also feeling he has gotten mess on his hands with this couple who seem to like to get a little too close for comfort…mine and Jeff’s.

The Rachel Zoe Project (Bravo, Mondays, 10 p.m.) – I die for stylist Rachel Zoe’s attention to detail and love for her craft.  Her business has expanded and she now has moved into a very nice looking (of course) studio space. Mother is pleased. Some things haven’t changed. Whiny-ass, annoying, I just want to kick her, Taylor (TayTay) is back as is dapper, wonderfully silly Brad. Rachel’s added another stylist and a couple of interns to the mix. Still, with her good fortune, due to the recession, she is met by challenges. Designers are producing fewer one-of-a-kind dresses for her to choose from for her high profile clients which include Eva Mendes, Anne Hathaway and Cameron Diaz. Although not a fashionista, I love to look at the pretty dresses. This show is a good, calmer diversion.

I’m Here for You

So, if you want to someone to watch TV with, tweet me (@cwrite101) and let me know what you are watching or going to watch (It doesn’t have to be one of the shows previously mentioned). I’m game for anything. I’m an addict, you know. And my folks from the Reality TV Virtual Viewing Party (or so I have named us), hosted ostensibly by Twitter, are good for more than a few laughs and a whole lot of unsolicited opinion.

Related Posts

The “It” Factor: LaurieAnn Gibson of ‘Making His Band’ and ‘P Diddy’s StarMaker’ Breaks It Down Boom Kack Style (The Ride)


Leave a Reply

