The Ride Takes a Trip to the Season Three NYC Auditions for TVLand’s ‘She’s Got the Look’ (UPDATE)

Recently, hundreds of women braved an extremely cold Saturday December New York City morning to get what they hoped would be their shot at becoming a fashion models. For many this is their first try at making was a long held dream, which for many began in childhood, a reality. For others ,this was their second shot after a long hiatus.

The Ride visited the open casting call for the third season of TVLand’s She’s Got the Look, the series which offers women over 35 a chance at having a Wilhelmenia Models contract as one of its coveted prizes and spoke with the casting director and some of the hopefuls.

Robyn Cass, Casting Director, TVLand's 'She's Got the Look' (photo: Carla Ray Thompson)

Robyn Kass, Casting Director, ‘She’s Got the Look’ – “[She’s Got the Look] is different from other shows [because] beauty is not number one. All of the ladies have to be beautiful but they also must possess a light in their eyes, drive, energy and life experience. And they want to have to go through the process…[During the casting], we measure their desire.  How badly do they want this or is this some kind of a fluke, something their friends told them that they should do?” As for making this a nationwide search: “We like to get around and represent as much of the country as we can and make the opportunity accessible as possible.”

Carmen Lynch (photo: Carla Ray Thompson)

Carmen Lynch, over 35, stand up comedian, NYC –  “I always had a fascination with modeling but never really had chance to push myself to do it. So when I heard about this, I thought it would be a lot of fun..I also thought it would be an new adventure” Originally from VA, Carmen, who grew up in Spain, has been a resident of New York for over 10 years. Although a comedian, she said that not one of those people who tries to be funny all the time. In fact, she described herself as being a “shy person, not a “class clown”.  Growing up, Carmen always wanted to become a model. “I’m six feet tall. When you’re six feet tall, no matter who you are or what you look like people always tell you, you should be a model. They make it sound so easy. ‘You’re tall so go be a model.’  It doesn’t always work that way. It’s not something my parents pushed and living in Virginia, there wasn’t a lot of modeling.” So, what does Carmen think, if chosen, the experience will be like? “It’s kind of way of exposing yourself and for me, it sounds like fun. And it’s kind of a challenge too because I grew in a very conservative kind of culture.”

Judy Williams (photo: Carla Ray Thompson)

Judy Williams, 55, executive at a law firm, Upper Marlboro, MD – “I think it’s a great opportunity for people who aren’t 15 to 20 and at maybe at one point in their life thought about being a model. They can now start to conquer that goal..I think subconsciously [I always want to model]. I never got that I was model material until I got to 50 and thought sure, I can do this. This is just another challenge.” On the life of model: “I don’t know if it is a glamorous as we think it is. I think it’s a lot of hard work. You have to perfect your craft  and you can be successful at it. I think some of the shoots seem very difficult but if you have confidence in what you are doing, you can do it…One of the questions was: ‘When do you feel most beautiful?’  My answer: When I feel confident, confident in what I can do, then I feel beautiful.”

Joan Chandler (photo: Carla Ray Thompson)

Joan Chandler, 49, businesswoman, Pennsylvania -“Besides this being a dream of mine, there are couple of different reasons [I decided to audition]. I’d like to represent the women that are in business.  I’m a businesswoman. I’m smart independent and self-reliant and I’d like to pair that with beauty and class and grace. I also have a 13-year-old daughter and I want her to know that when you get older your dreams don’t die. When I first told her that I was doing it, she was like, ‘Why?’ because when you’re 13 you think mom’s kind of pretty old. And I said, because you know dreams don’t die. And she said,’You know mom you’re right.’  Now she’s all on the bandwagon; she’s really excited. I think [a modeling career] would be hectic, crazy, fun, exciting, tiring, exhilarating, everything.”

Crystal Hopkins (photo: Carla Ray Thompson)

Crystal Hopkins, 41, freelance commercial writer, Newark, NJ – Her beauty regimen: “I don’t smoke. I drink socially, occasionally. I drink a lot of water. But other than that, it’s genetics.”  Crystal, who also conducts life skill workshops for young people said this about her decision to audition: “I feel this my opportunity to start my [modeling] career again. I wasn’t as successful as I wanted to be. I went out on a lot of calls but I don’t know what it was. I don’t think it was my time. I think it’s my time now.”  What’s different now, if anything?: “I’m a lot more confident, I feel more comfortable in my own skin. I am able to to get into the characters required for modeling. I feel better about myself.”

Pattie Romano (photo: Carla Ray Thompson)

Pattie Romano, 34, New Jersey–  About the fact that she is not quite 35: “I’m thinking if [they] like me now, by the time it airs I’ll be 35. So, I decided to come anyway…I’ve been modeling for a couple of years…I just wanted to give it shot and would see what would happen.” Pattie’s return to modeling came after she took some time off following the birth of her daughter, now age 5, who models as well. “She does the same kind of stuff. She’s used to go sees and auditions.”  When asked if we could be looking a a future mother and daughter modeling duo, Pattie said that they have “done mother and daughter work already” and it was “wonderful working with her.” Why her?  Pattie said she possesses experience, inner beauty, and outer beauty. “Hopefully, I’ll be able to show the world that as well.”

Warning: I shot some very amateur, low quality video at the casting call.  The women had to “walk the runway” in front of peers and a representative of Wilhelmenia Models.

UPDATE

TVLand announced that Brooke Burke is new host of She’s Got the Look. And TV reporter Roshumba will join the panel of judges.  Burke replaces former supermodel Kim Alexis and Roshumba replaces another former supermodel Beverly Johnson.  Filming for season 3 has begun in Los Angeles.

UPDATE 2

TVLand announced that Season 3 of SGTL will begin on Wednesday, August 25.


Leave a Reply

