‘I Want to Work for Diddy 2’ Winner Takes It to the End Zone

Before I go any further, I’d like to wish you all a Happy 2010!  Let’s make this year our beytoch. On your knees 2010.

And speaking of making things, or in this case, people, one’s beyotches. (Sloppy segue, I know), way back in November of 2009, Diddy TV, presented us with a second installment of VH1’s I Want to Work for Diddy, aptly titled, I Want to Work for Diddy 2. (No, I don’t. Thank you.).

Just in case you are brand new to the show, hip hop mogul Diddy with the help of Capricorn Clark, Bad Boy global brand manager,  former record label honcho and Diddy employer Andre Harrell and former Diddy manager, Phil Robinson, select from a group of hopefuls from around the country, the one person who would be anointed, I mean appointed, Assistant to Mr. Combs (a.k.a Diddy). Yes, that’s the prize ladies and gentlemen.

And who was the lucky winner this year? (Two contestants “won” last year but according to Diddy, they just didn’t quite work out, so the hunt for an assistant continued this season.)  Well, after having completed seemingly crazy and near impossible tasks, which in the finale included rehearsing a scene with Diddy, and literally running through the streets of New York to pick up flowers for a listening party and having previously braved dark tunnels and the return of last year’s nemesis-turned-Diddy informant, Poprah, Ebony Jones emerged victorious.

 

Ebony Jones, contestant and winner on 'I Want to Work for Diddy 2' (photo; Vh1)

 

Her fellow finale contender, Daniel Orrison, a wine steward from Maryland and an all around nice guy, kept pace with Ebony throughout.  But when it came down to the final task — giving a speech to Diddy and his team about why he should work for Diddy, Daniel, wonderfully earnest, did well. But Ebony, single mother, pro football player, former stripper, and teacher from Texas, did better.

 

 

Daniel Orrison, contestant on 'I Want to Work for Diddy 2' (photo: Vh1)

 

So impressive was her presentation, I took the time to transcribe it. When asked why you would want to do something, or to work for someone, would you be able to be so wonderfully articulate and passionate?

Ebony: “Mr. Combs, what is the thing that you want most right now. Can you think of one thing that you want most?

Diddy: “I want a cheeseburger”

Ebony: “‘Cheeseburger’ (laughs). Well, guess what, I can think of one thing and it’s the one thing that has drove me for the past 30 days — to belong to something that is bigger than myself. When I look at Bad Boy Entertainment, I see the identity. I see it  from the lowest assistant, the executive assistant, to the men that work right beside you. I see that identity in them.

I’m an all American, a defensive end. Why is that important to me? I see Bad Boy like that team. I know that to play my position, there is a couple of things I have to have. I’ve got to be insightful. I’ve got to be able to read what the quarterback is doing. I’ve got to be able to read what that offensive line is doing — Is it going to be a pass? Is it going to be a sweep? —  so that I can make my next move. And why is that important to you?  Because that’s what I am going to bring to Bad Boy. It’s important that I am able to read people, understand people, know people and I have done that here over the past 30 days. And yes, it’s a little raw but I’m going to bring it wholeheartedly.

And this is the one thing that I keep thinking: That diamond. How do you get that diamond to shine so bright? How is it cut so precisely? The pressure. The more pressure that you put on that diamond, the better it becomes, the more beautiful it becomes. Yes, I am that raw but I see myself being that diamond. So I’ll be able to make decisions in the best interest of Bad Boy because what you guys [are] is more than an image, it is an identity that is so deeply rooted that it moves me.

When I made this decision to come here, I was very clear about it. I never took no for an answer and I never looked back. I’ve kept my eyes on the prize and that’s why I’m standing here today. And I’ll tell you that if you think that this is it, you are sadly mistaken. I’m so hungry. I’m so hungry that I left Texas; I got on a plane; I went out and hunt[ed] for my food. That’s why I’m here. And I tell you, I will hunt every day. And the day that I feel that I’m full, then I’ll leave you alone because I’d be doing you a disservice. But I’ll tell you, I think I have a tapeworm because I’m never going to stop being hungry. “


4 thoughts on “‘I Want to Work for Diddy 2’ Winner Takes It to the End Zone

  1. Absolutely!!!! But Mr. Combs hear was set on that female football player woring within his “corporation” from the start. Moreover, that woman football player’s ability to recite her script so elegant That football player of elegance in that short time that woman football’s ability to think so quickly while standing on her feet That woman football player’s ability to out slick her opponent with her lie that woman football ability to wholeheartly express her reasons for wanting to work for another “Genius” led to that woman football players chance to work for “Bad Boy” However congrats to “both genius” Season 1 would have been the two of them. But Daniel, Ebony out shined you in the office setting That’s what mattered. Like Mr. Combs said to you “You will make it”

Leave a Reply

