Love Stories: Star Lynn of TVLand’s ‘First Love, Second Chance’

On TVLand’s new reality series, First Love, Second Chance (Wednesdays, 10 p.m. Eastern/Pacific), couples reunite after having been apart, sometimes for decades, with the hope of possibly rekindling the fire that once was.

(For more details about the show and The Ride’s review of First Love, Second Chance, click here.)

The Ride chatted with some of the show’s participants.  Every week, you’ll get to hear from them about meeting their first love, being on the show as well as their thoughts about love.

This week, it’s Star Lynn’s turn to talk. Star Lynn met her first love Garry when she was 16 and he, 17 and Garry was an exchange student from Australia living with Star Lynn’s family.

Star Lynn from “Garry and Star Lynn” (originally aired Wednesday, March 10)

The Ride: How frightened were you that your first love would not only not look the same as when you last saw him, but would look far worse than you could ever have imagined?

Star Lynn: I was prepared to meet a mature version of Garry. Since we had not seen one another for 29 years, I could only imagine him as he looked at age 17. 
I had recently reconnected with several classmates from high school through the Internet, (Classmates.com), and saw how much they had changed, so I was prepared to be reunited with the changes that aging 29 years would cause. I was pleasantly surprised how beautifully he had aged. I believe I would have accepted if he had not aged so well. I knew the essence of Garry would still be there. I was not disappointed!

The Ride: What if the latter was true – looked far worse than you ever imagined – what would you have done?

Star Lynn: I believe I would have accepted if he had not aged well. I was just so interested how his life had been since last we were together. I would have still been happy to know him and hear about his experiences in life.

The Ride: And did you focus on keeping in shape, looking your best, just in case you ran into that first love?

Star Lynn: I never thought our paths would cross since he moved back to Australia. I always try to keep healthy and in shape anyway.

The Ride: How did you find out about the show?

Star Lynn: I had just joined “MyLife.com” and looked for him in their “people search”, then I received an email from MyLife advertising the show.

The Ride: What was the selection process like?  I would think the casting people/producers would want to make sure that no one had any stalker tendencies.

Star Lynn:  I was impressed with how thorough the selection process was. 
Besides submitting our story by answering questions and a picture, we were also required to complete many tests including a criminal background check, psychological evaluation and medical tests.

The Ride: You are pretty vulnerable on the show. Why were you so willing to let a national television audience see that vulnerability?

Star Lynn: I had searched for Garry though the years, and was unable to locate him. I was so grateful that the producers were able to find him in Australia. I felt the vulnerability in opening up my life on the show would be worth it, because the reward would be to finally be reconnected with Garry.

The Ride: Your friends have a lot to say when they met your first love for the first time. What did they have to say when you told them you were going to be on the show?

Star Lynn: They were happy for me.

The Ride: What did your family have to say?

Star Lynn: My family knew Garry when I did, and loved him very much. They were excited for me. They were also looking forward to being reunited with him and seeing how his life had turned out.

The Ride: So do you believe in love at first sight?

Star Lynn: No, I believe in attraction at first sight, and love develops.

The Ride: Did you believe in love at first sight before you met your first love?

Star Lynn: No, I was only 16 and my love for Garry developed over the year we were together.

The Ride: “Hopeless romantic” or “Cautious Cynic”?

Star Lynn: “Hopeless romantic”

The Ride: What do you hope people get from watching the show?

Star Lynn: I believe most people have a first love that they probably will never search out or reconnect with; however, the fantasy is there. I believe the viewers can vicariously enjoy that fantasy playing out during the show.

I also believe, (now that I have been through this amazing process), that this show can remind viewers that MEMORIES of their first love are forever frozen in time. It is unrealistic to imagine they are the same. Life has a way of growing and changing people. We do change, even though our memories of them stay the same through the years.

It really is a wonderful experience to reconnect for friendship and/or romance. It was an enriching experience, no matter if there is a future together or not. In our case, there still are barriers that are keeping us from fulfilling our dream of being together. 
 
Whether we can work out our relationship in the long run, we are unsure, however, I am a better person and my life is richer for having been through this process of reuniting with my first love.


12 thoughts on “Love Stories: Star Lynn of TVLand’s ‘First Love, Second Chance’

  1. Hello. This is Tony Miros from Cornwell Casting in Los Angeles. We were the casting company responsible for casting “First Love Second Chance.” I just read your wonderful interview with Star Lynn and I wanted to thank you for liking our show SO much. Please feel free to contact me if you’d like to find out more about how we found such an amazing cast for this very special series. Trust me…it wasn’t that easy. 🙂

    Best
    Tony Miros
    Casting Director
    Cornwell Casting

  2. yay! that’s my mom! if you go on star lynn and gary on first love 2nd chance on tvland.com at videos, gary will talk about me asking my mom if she was gonna marry him!
    my mom is a movie star!

    Love, Lily

Leave a Reply

