Love Stories: Angela of TVLand’s ‘First Love, Second Chance’

You’ve met Pam and Chris and Star Lynn and Garry.  And on Wednesday, you’ll meet Shane and Angela, the couple featured this week on TVLand’s new reality series, First Love, Second Chance  (FLSC) (Wednesday, 10 p.m. Eastern/Pacific). On FLSC, couples reunite after a prolonged absence to see if those butterflies they felt long ago weren’t just a case of indigestion.

So, what’s the deal with Shane and Angela? Well, here it is: “Years ago, Shane gave Angela a promise ring. But when he moved away, she began dating other men, so Shane ended their relationship.  Twelve years later, they will decide if they can learn to trust each other again and make good on their promise of love.”

Like Star and both Chris and Pam before her, The Ride chatted with Angela.

Angela from “Shane and Angela” airs Wednesday, March 24

(For a sneak peek of the episode, click here)

The Ride: How frightened were you that your first love would not only not look the same as when you last saw him, but would look far worse than you could ever have imagined?

Angela: Oh my…great question.  I was so nervous that day I worked out for over 2 hours to get the nerves out of my system.  I wasn’t sure how he’d react to me and I was wondering what he would look like. He was so good looking back in the day that I wasn’t too worried what he would look like now. I was sure he was just as handsome as he was back then.

The Ride: What if the latter was true – looked far worse than you ever imagined – what would you have done?

Angela: Shane and I had a lot of fun when we dated, we were great friends, so I’m sure we would have joked around and still had a blast. That wouldn’t have bothered me if he had lost his looks.

The Ride: And did you focus on keeping in shape, looking your best, just in case you ran into that first love?

Angela: Yes, I try to stay in shape anyways, but I really didn’t go over board, I figured if he couldn’t except me for who I was now then it wasn’t meant to be.

Angela and Shane from TVLand's 'First Love, Second Chance' (photo: Vince Bucci/Picture Group via TVLand)

The Ride: How did you find out about the show?

Angela: Well, the show found me.  It was Shane that was looking for me. [smiles]

The Ride: What was the selection process like?  I would think the casting people/producers would want to make sure that no one had any stalker tendencies.

Angela: They interviewed me by phone with the casting director and his assistant and I sent some photos that I had of Shane and I.  I had to answer some questions and email them back and then I got to talk to the producer a few times. I also had to send a video of myself as well.

The Ride: You are pretty vulnerable on the show. Why were you so willing to let a national television audience see that vulnerability?

Angela: I thought maybe this was it. Maybe Shane was the one I was looking for all these years…why not take a chance because you only live once!

The Ride:  Your friends have a lot to say when they met your first love for the first time. What did they have to say when you told them you were going to be on the show?

Angela: I had one of my old friends that I grew up with that remembered my relationship with Shane.  He was very reluctant to come on because he never trusted Shane.  He also thought that Shane was a very jealous person and controlling.  My other two friends didn’t know Shane so I needed another opinion. They were very protective because they had heard the stories of Shane and I and were reluctant for me to explore this second chance with him. I know they were just worried I was going to fall for Shane and make another mistake and I told them all that I had to explore it in order to either get closure or to see if there is still something. I told them it was okay.

The Ride: What did your family have to say?

Angela: They liked it.  They knew how serious I was with Shane and they saw our relationship first hand. Shane was close to my family and vice versa. My parents told me that I would never know if he was the one if I didn’t give it a shot. They said what happened in the past was in the past.  We were young and needed to explore things now that we were older.

The Ride: So do you believe in love at first sight?

Angela: Oh yes, definitely!

The Ride: Did you believe in love at first sight before you met your first love?

Angela: Absolutely, when I first saw Shane — wow, it hit me and I thought whoa this is it.

The Ride: “Hopeless romantic” or “Cautious Cynic”?

Angela: I think as I’ve grown older, I’m a mixture of both.  But I’m a sucker for romantic men!

The Ride: What do you hope people get from watching the show?

Angela: That remembering your first love will always give you butterflies.  You never forget that first love! But people do grow up and change and sometimes the person you thought was the one fifteen years ago isn’t the one and that’s okay, just keep looking and keep believing that they’re out there.

[SPOILER ALERT]

The show started a spark with me, I stopped looking for the “one” before the show and it inspired me to start looking again.  I met someone after the show stopped filming and I’m still with him and I have found my “one.” I always say “when one door closes, another window opens.” We live together and are talking about the future and getting married.  I’m happy and in love, I’m glad I did the show because I decided to give love a second chance and I found it back here in Cincinnati. Keep looking for the “one ” — they’re out there!

You can follow Angela on Twitter at @AngelaisFab.

Related Posts

Taking a Chance on TVLand’s ‘First Love, Second Chance’

Love Stories: Star Lynn of TVLand’s ‘First Love, Second Chance’

Love Stories: Chris of TVLand’s ‘First Love, Second Chance’

Love Stories: Pam of TVLand’s  ‘First Love, Second Chance’


13 thoughts on “Love Stories: Angela of TVLand’s ‘First Love, Second Chance’

    1. Please avoid men like shane. He will try to control you, unless you want to be controlled. In that case, knock yourself out.

  1. Shane has characteristics of a domestic violence perp. He wants to control, to be praised, and worshiped. I really hope that women who date him in the future see what he put you through. He tried to sell himself to you, money, helicopters, etc. He wants to bring a woman into HIS world. In other words, Shane wants a picture of a life that he can control and not a real life that can never be controlled. A mate is just that a mate not a puppet. He got cold feet 12 years ago when he discovered that you were a think breathing human being and he could not control you. He recontacted you for revenge not to rekindle anything. You have been the only person that has shown him how bad he really is. He needs some serious counseling. He is a really sick man who covers up his volatile mental state by buying women gifts and impressing them with his little bit of money. Never fall for that again.

  2. Linda, thank you for your advice but some how I don’t believe shane is really like that in real life, reality TV only show what they think is good for the rating. I myself would like to meet shane in person and see if he’s that guy on TV or not.

  3. Poor Shane. He is still stuck in the past, and seeking revenge. I am certasin that this was just a way to “show Angela” what a “catch” he is, and what she is missing. She isn’t missing a thing. And the fact that she found someone, while Shane is still in the “hip Cali Guy” mode, empty and alone, reinforces that belief. Way to go Angela!

  4. As of Tuesday; March 30th, 2010; I have a second change with my first love. And it has been 39 years since we last even talked. I gave it one more chance to try to find her Tuesday, but going to Google and typed in her fathers name and last place I knew he worked. Sad to say though; her mothers obit came up but I was able to call her brother and ask him to call her and ask her to call me. We are now talking everyday for at least three hours. I am going to fly to Gainesville, Florida from Columbus, Ohio this week. And look for some property. I am been wanting to move to Florida since I retired from the Army in 1994. Now I have a real reason to move there and a person to share it with.

  5. recently, though i am married, i experianced an unsolicited “blast from the past” that became something of a stalker, i did everything to discourage her advances. she lives in alaska and needs a way out as well as a “pay-check”…my advice is BE CAREFUL! most of these types are returning to their “rolodex” of past flames…you can bet that they have tried their luck with others before getting to your name. be prepared for an onslaught of drama…children, grandchildren, ex-spouses, bad credit. try to remember why you split up and remain in the moment.

Leave a Reply

