Next on the Runway, Nina Cash of TVLand’s ‘She’s Got the Look’ (Season 3)

After witnessing the ever escalating girlfights on a certain Bravo franchise, it’s refreshing to see women of a certain age keeping it classy.

The fabulous femmes, all over the age of 35, can be seen competing for a contract with Wilhelmenia Modela , and a photo spread in Self magazine, on season 3 of TVLand’s  She’s Got the Look (SGTL) (Wednesdays, 10 p.m. Eastern/Pacific).

For the next few weeks, The Ride will chat with some of the contestants redefining beauty and glamour as they are transformed into the women that they always wanted to be, and perhaps, always knew they could be.

On the Runway: Regina “Nina” Cash, 43

A product of a” traditional Catholic military family,” Nina is of ” Filipino, Spanish, German, Japanese and Native American descent”. Cash, who “was scouted to model” in high school, worked as a part-time model until she became pregnant at 25. …”Now she wants to continue the modeling dream she launched 20 years ago.”

The Ride: Congrats on becoming a finalist for She’s Got the Look Season 3! I wouldn’t have the courage to audition. What motivated you to audition for the show?

Nina: The initial motivation to audition for the show came from my 17-year-old daughter and husband. We had watched the previous seasons together and they both thought I should be on the show…Secretly, I wanted to be on the show too because I had modeled in the past when I was younger, but needed the security of a monthly income to support my new baby daughter, so I had to quit the business and get a 9 to 5 job.

The Ride: What was the audition process like for you?

Nina: The audition process was stressful and exciting all at the same time.  I literally found out about the LA audition a couple of days before, so I really didn’t have time to “get myself together”. After the LA audition, I immediately had my on-camera interview the very next day.  The most stressful and agonizing part was waiting a month and a half to see if I made the top 20.  I was on pins and needles the entire time!

The Ride: What was it like to stand before the judges (SGTL vets Wilhemenia Models president, Sean Patterson and celebrity stylist Robert Verdi. Newcomers SGTL host and model Brooke Burke and model and runway coach Roshumba Williams) on the show?  They are a tough group!

TV Land's 'She's Got the Look' -The Judges: (left to right): Robert Verdi, Brooke Burke, Roshumba Williams, Sean Patterson (photo: TVLand)

Nina: The judges were brutally honest…as well they should be.  In my eyes, they are the experts and I was willing and ready to take any type of constructive criticism that came my way. Robert Verdi was the toughest…with his quick-witted quips that stung like a bee, yet were right on target.  Honestly, I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to being a bit hurt at their judgment of me…but in the end…I believe they were doing it for my own good.

The Ride: In the past, when you looked in the mirror, what or who did you see?

Nina: In the past, when I looked in the mirror I saw a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother, a friend.  I saw what everyone else wanted me to be.  Never did I see who Nina truly was.

TVLand's 'She's Got the Look' Contestant Regina 'Nina' Cash, 43 (photo: TVLand)

The Ride: Now that you’ve been on “She’s Got the Look,” how has the perception of yourself changed, if at all?

Nina: My perception of myself has certainly changed since being on “She’s Got the Look”, I am beginning to learn who I TRULY am, not what other people view me to be.

The Ride: And I must ask, what does the phrase, “She’s Got the Look” mean to you?

Nina: To me “She’s Got the Look”  means hope, a second chance, an awakening, self acceptance and forgiveness, a sisterhood, self reliance, passion, inspiration, and accomplishment.

The Ride: I’m practically addicted to “America’s Next Top Model”.  I learned from Miss Tyra Banks how to “smize” — smile with your eyes.  What are some things you’ve learned about modeling and/or how to model that you didn’t know before?

TVLand's She's Got the Look Season 3's Regina 'Nina' Cash (photo: TVLand)
TVLand's She's Got the Look Season 3's Regina 'Nina' Cash (photo: TVLand)

Nina: Roshumba Williams provided many modeling tips.  The one that stood out for me was: When modeling you should have a movie playing in your mind that ties in to the photo shoot. This will help you emote certain feelings that will hopefully translate to the camera.

The Ride: What are some of your beauty secrets? (I selfishly ask).

Nina: I don’t ingest any type of caffeine including sodas and chocolate.  I also love Bikram Yoga. This helps not only your muscles and body, but it’s great for your complexion…all that sweating gets the toxins out of your body. Plus
you can lose approximately 700 calories in one session.

The Ride: Okay, I think it’s time to talk about the dreaded “PS” – not postscript but plastic surgery.  Is it “Yes, do what you need to do to look good for you”, or “No, au natural all the way.  “Love me, wrinkles and all” or “I’m kind of somewhere in between?”

Nina: Having plastic surgery should be decided by the individual. I strongly believe that a person should NOT have plastic surgery in order to please someone else.

The Ride: Since you are a fabulous doll of a certain age, I’m sure that you have younger people who look to you for guidance and older ones for inspiration.  Do you have any words of wisdom for them?

Nina: Below are words of wisdom taught to me by my gorgeous mother.  However, these beauty tips are most famously known as being stated by Audrey Hepburn, but were actually written by Sam Levenson:

For attractive lips, speak words of kindness.
For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.
For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.
For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone.


3 thoughts on “Next on the Runway, Nina Cash of TVLand’s ‘She’s Got the Look’ (Season 3)

Leave a Reply

