Next on the Runway, Julie Love-Templeton of TVLand’s ‘She’s Got the Look’ (Season 3)

In the last installment of The Ride’s series of interviews with contestants of TVLand’s reality series  for over 35 beauties, She’s Got the Look (Wednesdays, 10 p.m. Eastern/Pacific), we (okay, it really should be “me” or rather “I”) chat with Julie Love-Templeton who hopes to win the coveted grand prizes of a modeling contract with Wilhelmenia Models and a photo spread in Self magazine.

On the Runway: Julie Love-Templeton, 36

From Tuscaloosa, Alabama (Roll Tide! SEC football fans will know what I’m talking about), the youngest of 10 children, and wanting to make her papa proud, “she followed in his footsteps and became a trial lawyer.” When he died in 2004, Julie realized “she enjoyed being a lawyer because it brought her closer to her father but she always had the bug for modeling.”  As a newbie to the world of modeling, ” the married mother of an 8-year-old son describes herself as a bull in a china shop.”

The Ride: Congrats on becoming a finalist for She’s Got the Look, Season 3!  I wouldn’t have the courage to audition.  What motivated you to audition for the show?

Julie: I was a huge fan of Season 1 but would never had auditioned myself had my husband Shawn not told me that he had rented me a hotel room in Memphis and he could not get a refund. [smiles]  I felt like if he had that much faith in me I had to go.

The Ride: What was the audition process like for you?

Julie: I avoided the cameras and hid behind a book while I waited in line because I found the “model-like” women incredibly intimidating. I had visions of not making it and then someone from home seeing a clip of me at auditions when the show aired and laughing that I thought I could make it.  I had no fears actually talking to the casting directors.

The Ride: What was it like to stand before the judges on the show (SGTL vets Wilhemenia Models president, Sean Patterson and celebrity stylist Robert Verdi. Newcomers SGTL host and model Brooke Burke and model and runway coach Roshumba Williams)?  They are a tough group!

Julie: The first night I could actually hear a humming in my ears similar to being underwater. I kept thinking to myself, “If you pass out it will make the show and you will never live it down. Don’t pass out! Don’t pass out!”

The Ride: In the past, when you looked into the mirror, what or who did you see?

Julie: An average looking gal, not too bad not too great.

TVLand's She's Got the Look (Season 3) Julie Love-Templeton (photo: TVLand)

The Ride: Now that you’ve been on She’s Got the Look, how has the perception of yourself changed, if it has at all?

Julie: I still see her, I just try to find her better angles. [smiles]

The Ride: And I must ask, what does the phrase, “She’s Got the Look” mean to you?

Julie: I think it can apply to a woman in any situation in life, be it modeling or being the best soccer mom in town. She is a woman who is confident in her ability and her place in life and owns every moment.

The Ride: I’m practically addicted to America’s Next Top Model. I learned from Miss Tyra Banks how to “smize” — smile with your eyes.  What are some things you’ve learned about modeling and/or how to model that you didn’t know before?

Julie: That is funny because my mother has always told me she can tell if I am truly happy by whether my “eyes smile.” I never realized how much of what goes on in a person’s head can translate on their face. I did not understand that modeling is hard work and an art and not just standing and smiling.

The Ride: What are some of your beauty secrets? (I selfishly ask).

Julie: I moisturize, sometimes to the point of saturation. [smiles]

The Ride: Okay, I think it’s time to talk about the dreaded “PS” – not postscript but plastic surgery.  Is it “Yes, do what you need to do to look good for you”, or “No, au natural all the way.  “Love me, wrinkles and all” or “I’m kind of somewhere in between?”

Julie: I could never say never — as a lawyer I am not geared to black and white answers. However, I choose to embrace my age and all that gravity has done to me and try to love me for that person at that stage in life. If another woman, or even me in a few years, decides that a little work will make them feel better, who am I to say shame on you?

The Ride: Since you are a fabulous doll of a certain age, I’m sure that you have younger people who look to you for guidance and older ones for inspiration.  Do you have any words of wisdom for them?

Julie: Get out of the tanning bed!!! And as hard as it often is for women who want to do it all and cannot accept anything less than perfection, try to love yourself for your effort and not the end product. And last but not least, if you can dream it, you can achieve it.

Take a Look at the Other Contestants

Nina Cash

Kathleen Neumann

Diane Capozzi


3 thoughts on “Next on the Runway, Julie Love-Templeton of TVLand’s ‘She’s Got the Look’ (Season 3)

Leave a Reply

