Pretty Wild: Talking with Whitney Whatley of ‘Big Rich Texas’

Style Network’s Big Rich Texas (BRT) pulls back the curtain on the country club set to reveal that the rich are just as messy as you and me. But much more fun to watch. (Sundays at 9/8 c)

On BRT, MILFy mothers, who appear on the show with their daughters, do battle with one another over one thing or the other. One of the dynamic mother and daughter duos is that of Bonnie Blossman and Whitney Whatley.

Bonnie, a self-described “Botoxian”, is more than familiar with the inside of a plastic surgeon’s office. But don’t let her Barbie-fied looks and Bettty Boop voice fool you into thinking that she isn’t working with the brain God gave her. It’s Dr. Bonnie to you, not in M.D., but PhD.

As for daughter Whitney, she’s a pre-med student who isn’t so sweet on school. So Mama B made a pact with Whitney  — if she gets all A’s, she gets a set of surgically enhanced…breasts.

Okay, so maybe the rich aren’t really like you and me.

A bit kooky and carefree, Bonnie and Whitney clash with the more conservative types at the club. Bonnie battles with Pamela Martin Duarte, “Queen P”, as I affectionately call her. And Whitney, well, let’s say she sincerely believes rules are meant for other people to follow and couldn’t quite understand what was so wrong with sporting a tattoo that rhymes with “punt” but is spelled with a “c”  or bringing a gun in her purse to the club.

I don’t see any problem with that, do you? But hey, forget country club, I’m not even a member of Sam’s Club.

Recently, The Ride stopped to chat with the fun fireball that is Whitney about BRT, her tattoos, her tatas, and why people should take her mom seriously.

The Ride: Hey Whitney! Thank so very much for taking the time to chat with me. Congratulations on the new season of Big Rich Texas. Despite some drawbacks of being on reality TV, like having your business out there giving folks a chance to give you the business, I’m sure one of the perks is having fun fans. What’s the nicest thing a fan has ever done for you?

Whitney: I have a lot of awesome fans! I absolutely love when there are people bashing me online (for no reason) and my fans have my back!!! That shows a lot in a person!

Whitney Whatley and Bonnie Blossman of Style Network's 'Big Rich Texas' (photo: Style Network)

The Ride: Your mom, Bonnie, and cast member Hannah’s mom, Pamela are not the best of friends to say the least.  What do you think is really at the bottom of their beefing?

Whitney: Who knows? [laughs]…If I did, then I would totally try to fix the problem!

The Ride: And how have you and Hannah remained friends through it all?

Whitney: We try to not let it get between us! At times it is really hard because we both have our mothers’ back!

The Ride: Okay, I have a confession to make: I may have at some point said something about your mom being a…”bubblehead”? I know she’s a PhD, because she told us so — as she should because how would we know? Why do you think folks like me, the underinformed or misinformed, have such an impression of your mom?

Whitney: I don’t know why…but very smart people come in all different ways. You don’t have to look or act like what we have stereotyped as a nerd! I also have two pictures for everyone to shut up about this topic!

Bonnie Blossom's Credentials (Photo Courtesy of Whitney Whatley)
Bonnie's Blossom's Diploma (Photo Courtesy of Whitney Whatley)

The Ride: What’s the best advice your mom ever gave you?

Whitney: Once a cheater always a cheater!

The Ride: Which other BRT mom would you have as you mom?

Whitney: None, I love my mom!

The Ride: Another confession, I may have also called you a “wild child”.  Am I way off base with that description?

Whitney: Well, I’m not a child but I do like to have fun!

The Ride: I love that you love tattoos. What was your first tattoo? Which one is your favorite? And how many DO you have?

Whitney: First tattoo was my Bamboo! My favorite tattoo is the Bamboo or my bows…[How many?] That’s a hard one! I have 15 and counting!  [smiles]

The Ride: I have to ask, why the obsession with getting new tatas, chichis, chesticles? Why can’t being fairly flat be where it’s at?

Whitney: [laughs uproariously] “Chesticles”… Love it! I have a one track mind and once I get it in my head I want something…I WANT IT! I won’t stop ’til I have it!

The Ride: Let’s talk Tyler, who at the request of his BRT mom, Leslie, took you for a ride in order to get a free ride into your mom’s social circle. He’s alright as far as young handsome boys go but why do you think you were so wildly attracted to him?

Whitney: I have no clue…I guess you can say new guy in town.

The Ride: What cool qualities would you like in a guy you’d like?

Whitney: I like a guy who is creative.

A Bit of Randomness

Favorite cookie?

Hmm…I don’t really like sweets.

Coffee, tea or something else altogether?

5hr Energy

Cats or dogs?

Dogs

Love or lust?

Lust

I couldn’t live without my_______

Cell phone

I was born to _________

Parttyyyyy!!! Just kiddding.

What three words would you use to describe you?

Free-Spirit, Spontaneous, Caring

The Ride: Back to the show:  What can we expect to see from you this season? You can tell me. I won’t blab.

Whitney: You gotta watch to see!!! [smiles]

The Ride: Hey, you can’t blame a girl for trying, Thanks a lot Whitney! You Rock!!

You can connect with Whitney on Twitter (@WhitneyWhatley). And you can check out her website, here.

Related Post

Locked and Loaded: A Q&A with Stratight Shooter Pamela Martin Duarte of ‘Big Rich Texas’


2 thoughts on “Pretty Wild: Talking with Whitney Whatley of ‘Big Rich Texas’

Leave a comment